Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince

BY: J.K Rowling

“Neither can live while the other survives ”

This book is truly infuriating yet so fulfilling. In the last book Order of The Phoenix we had some little info of Voldemort’s background, but here we have this huge fulfilling story of Voldemort’s background, starting with his grandparents and his parents. I loved seeing young Voldemort and how even as a child he was feared.

“Ginny, listen…I can’t be involved with you anymore. We’ve got to stop seeing each other. We can’t be together.”

Let’s list the infuriating details I read in this book, first it is obvious now that Harry has feelings for Ginny and he wanted to be with her from the beginning of the book; Fortunately, he finally got the girl and Ron was okay with it, but as every cheesy movie he had to let go of her because he is living a dangerous life and will go on a dangerous quest and he doesn’t want her to be included in all this.

Harry knew from the very beginning that his life was difficult and he had even more difficulties ahead of him because he is “the chosen one”, he just realized how dangerous his life is after being with Ginny?? REALLY SO YOU JUST GET THE GIRL TO HAVE FEELINGS FOR YOU THEN DUMP HER FOR A REASON YOU KNEW EVEN BEFORE BEING WITH HER?? THAT’S ABSURD.

“How was it at Won-Won’s?”

The second thing that frustrated me is Hermione’s attitude towards Ron throughout the whole book, I get that she likes him, but she has no right to treat him the way she did because he decided to be with Lavender. There was nothing official between her and Ron so technically he can be with anyone, she has every reason to be mad but she has no reason to lash it out at him.

“Dumbledore,” said Harry. “Snape killed… Dumbledore.”

The last thing that devastated me is Dumbledore’s blind trust in Snape, seriously since book one and we know Snape cannot be trusted, Harry told Dumbledore and most of the Order of the Phoenix did the same and yet Dumbledore does not listen and what is the result huh …. HE GETS FREAKIN KILLED BY SNAPE HIMSELF.

I am so mad at Dumbledore he proved to us that he can be wrong when he didn’t include Harry in all the events in the last book and it all went south, so he could’ve just thought about the possibility that maybeeee he is wrong.

“He accused me of being Dumbledore’s man through and through.”

“How very rude of him.”

“I told him I was.”

Now about the things I loved in this book, I love how Dumbledore decided to correct his mistakes and include Harry in everything he did, in a way I think he was preparing him for later when he is not around. I loved seeing Harry have his own missions and thinking of ways to figure it out on his own.

“The thing about growing up with Fred and George,” said Ginny thoughtfully, “is that you sort of start thinking anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.”

The Horcruxes addition to the series made it ten times more interesting, Voldemort didn’t just create one Horcrux, but seven. This is so intimidating yet so interesting. I love how Rowling decided to choose the Horcruxes from the four Hogwarts houses, seriously the details are deeply satisfying. I love the idea of being immortal however killing someone to do so…. that’s really greatly messed up.

“Do you know what I think, Potter?’ said Snape, very quietly. “I think that you are a liar and a cheat and that you deserve detention with me every Saturday until the end of term. What do you think, Potter?”

I kind of knew Snape was the half-blood prince because when Harry told him about the spell and that he read it somewhere Snape gave a great interest to Harry’s potions book more than any other book Harry had given him. He was sure that Harry was lying to him and that was not his book, this scene made me skeptical. In addition, who knew more about potions than Snape in the entire school?

“Trust me,” he said. “I know what I’m doing… or at least” — he strolled confidently to the door — “Felix does.”

My favorite part was when the Order of the Phoenix was fighting the Death Eaters by the end of the book, there was a lot of action there and it was so overwhelming. I loved seeing the DA squad fighting again together. I was so scared that Bill would turn into a werewolf or die as the Weasleys are my favorite family

My Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Please rate our website(required)

Published by Yarathebookaddict

I've always been that person who has many ideas and opinions but never gets to share them. Now, this is going to change, I created this blog to share my book reviews with everyone. Maybe you'll agree with me maybe you might have the same ideas as mine but never said them out loud and maybe you disagree with me. I am always open to different points of view. I enjoy seeing people expressing themselves by telling me how a certain book can make them full of emotions. This is a blog for all of us to speak out loud.

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince

  1. But when Harry was with Ginny, he didn’t know that he would have to go searching for the horcruxes alone. Keep in mind that Dumbeldore had not been killed at that point, so Harry probably thought that he would have Dumbeldore help him in his search or maybe protect the castle and its students in case Voldemort tries to make a move on Ginny or any other student. It is after Dumbeldore died, in his funeral, that he knew he would have to hunt the horecruxes alone, and that, with Dumbeldore gone, he would have to be the one to protect Ginny by distancing himself from her, since no one else can protect her from Voldemort.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Before he was Ginny he knew he’s the chosen one and that eventually he’ll have to fight Voldemort . His life was already dangerous so before deciding to be with Ginny he should have put all that in mind

      Like

      1. Yes, he knew that his life was dangerous and that he would eventually have to fight Voldermot, but like I said, I think Dumberldore’s death changed everything. Had Dumbeldore been alive, I’m sure Harry would have thought him capable of protecting Ginny and everyone else, if not capable of helping them find the Horcruxes. I don’t think Harry broke up with Ginny just because he fears that her life will be in danger. After all, he started the DA to teach his friends how to fight so that they can take part in this war if they had to. When Harry was summoning the courage to break up with Ginny, he text says: “And so he steeled himself to say what he had known he must say ever since Dumbeldore had died.” See? it says “after Dumbeldore had died.” Also, during their talk, he said “I’ve got things to do alone now.” So it’s not just about protecting Ginny because he thinks she might be in danger. The fifth book showed what a powerful wizard she is. I think it’s about Harry wanting to cut ties with everything in school because he believes that, after Dumbeldore’s death, he needs to go through the hunt alone.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started